Tutiac, both sides of Bordeaux

We are proud to promote 16 Bordeaux appellations across the terroirs of Blaye, Bourg, Graves, Fronsac, the Médoc and Sauternes. This large family boasts an array of personalities and stretches out over 5,400 hectares of vines near the Gironde Estuary.

Our terroirs

Established on the right bank north of the estuary on the marine limestone and marl soils of Blaye-Côtes de Bordeaux, Tutiac extended southwards to the asteriated limestone slopes of Côtes de Bourg and Fronsac. We are also based along the left bank, on the alluvial terraces of the Médoc and Graves up until Sauternes. 

Our vineyards benefit from the Bordeaux climate. Oceanic and temperate, with 240 days of sunshine each year, it is regulated by the Gulf stream and sheltered from Atlantic winds by the Landes forest. Propitious to ripening and enhancing the grape's subtle aromas, these weather conditions reveal nuances which combine with those contributed by the soil: in the Bordeaux region, the composition of the rocks has a decisive influence on the quality of the wines. The dense hydrographic network, and, of course, the meticulous care of our winegrowers, also play an important role in defining our terroirs. From one bank of the estuary to another, from one appellation to the next, they offer a great diversity which Tutiac embraces and unites, while respecting their complexity, topography, and intrinsic characteristics.

Our grape varieties

We grow a small number of grape varieties, which are blended to create harmonious wines, characteristic of Bordeaux. Our reds are made predominantly from Merlot (70% of our area under vine), producing round, deeply-coloured wines with smooth tannins, combined with Cabernet Franc, grown in the Médoc, Graves and Fronsac, Cabernet Sauvignon, the main grape variety in the Médoc, contributing wonderful aromatic complexity, and Malbec, which is widespread in Côtes de Bourg, where it thrives on deep red clay and clay-limestone soils. To a lesser extent, we also grow Petit Verdot, which requires meticulous care and attention to produce tannic red wines. For the whites, the main grape variety is Sauvignon Blanc, known for producing elegant, aromatic and lively wines, which are both well-balanced and characterful.

en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

Tutiac, le Bordeaux des deux rives

Nous sommes fiers de défendre 16 AOC bordelaises sur les terroirs de Blaye, Bourg, Graves, Fronsac, Médoc et Sauternes. Cette grande famille pleine de caractères s’épanouit sur 5400 hectares de vignes autour de l’estuaire de la Gironde.

Nos terroirs

Né en rive droite au nord de l’estuaire, sur les marnes et calcaires marins des Blaye-Côtes de Bordeaux, Tutiac s’est étendu vers le sud et les coteaux calcaires à astéries des Côtes de Bourg et de Fronsac. Nous sommes également tout au long de la rive gauche, sur les terrasses alluviales du Médoc et des Graves jusqu’à Sauternes. 

Notre vignoble bénéficie du climat Bordelais. Océanique, tempéré, éclairé par 240 jours d’ensoleillement par an, il est régulé par le Gulf stream et abrité des vents de l’Atlantique par la forêt des Landes. Propices au mûrissement et à la subtilité aromatique des raisins, ces conditions climatiques allient leurs nuances à celles des sols : dans le Bordelais, les propriétés des roches ont une influence déterminante sur la qualité des vins. La ressource en eau d’un réseau hydrographique dense, et bien sûr les soins apportés par nos vignerons ont aussi une grande importance dans la définition de nos terroirs. D’une rive à l’autre de l’estuaire, d’une appellation à l’autre, ils offrent une grande diversité que Tutiac embrasse et réunit, dans le respect de leur complexité, leur topographie, leurs caractères.

Nos cépages

Notre production est assurée par un petit nombre de cépages, dont les assemblages délivrent les harmonies propres aux vins de Bordeaux. Pour les rouges, ces cépages sont principalement le Merlot (70 % des surfaces de notre vignoble), qui donne des vins ronds, riches en couleur, avec des tanins souples ; le Cabernet Franc, travaillé dans le Médoc, les Graves et le Fronsac ; le Cabernet-Sauvignon, qui domine en Médoc et apporte une belle complexité aromatique ; le Malbec, très répandu en Côtes de Bourg où il apprécie particulièrement les argiles rouges profondes et les sols argilo-calcaires. Nous cultivons aussi, dans une moindre mesure, le Petit-Verdot, un cépage qui demande beaucoup de soins et permet d’élaborer des vins rouges riches en tanins. Pour les blancs, le cépage principal est le Sauvignon, connu pour sa capacité à produire des vins élégants et aromatiques, vifs, équilibrés et très typés.

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais