Aim for 100% eco-friendly viticulture

We have been committed to sustainable viticulture for many years, and have made every effort to become a role model regarding a natural approach and environmental responsibility throughout our 5,400 hectares of vineyards.

Developing eco-friendly practices

Since 2014, Tutiac has invested in an experimental vineyard dedicated to researching grape varieties and innovative winegrowing practices. Our objective is to protect natural resources and ecosystems, develop biodiversity, and limit input products. This initiative is funded by the French Ministry of Agriculture via the Casdar programme in favour of innovating in the context of the agroecological transition..
In these vineyards, in collaboration with the INRA and the Chamber of Agriculture, we study grape varieties which are naturally resistant to vine diseases, in order to limit or prevent the use of pesticides.
As soon as an environmentally and economically sustainable practice has proved successful, it is implemented in our member winegrowers’ vineyards. Effective practices include sowing in between vine rows, planting hedgerows at the edges of plots, planting flowers on fallow land, using mating disruption to reduce the risk of pests, and converting to organic agriculture.

Researching natural alternatives

Tutiac is also involved in researching biocontrol methods to promote natural plant protection. For instance, we are working with ImmunRise, a Bordeaux start-up which aims to revolutionise plant protection products by using marine-based alternatives. ImmunRise works in particular with marine microorganisms capable of stimulating the vines’ natural defences, or acting directly on disease pathogens, such as mildew and botrytis. Promising in-vitro results have already been observed.

Good daily practices

For eco-friendly viticultural methods to be effective, they need to be implemented at all company levels. Other concrete actions include ensuring ensuring the recovery and recycling of waste, producing green electricity thanks to photovoltaic shade houses at production sites, and installing electric vehicle charging stations for the general public.

Ambitious yet realistic objectives

All our vineyards are now Agri-Confiance (équivalent Certification Environnementale de niveau 2) et 650 hectares are grown organically. Our 3-year ambition is for all 5,400 hectares to obtain level 3 High Environmental Value certification. Since 2019, Tutiac has prohibited the use of CMR products, and we are one of the first cooperatives in France to offer Zero Pesticide Residues, -certified wines, guaranteeing consumers thethe absence of active substance residues within measurable limits..

en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

Objectif 100 % viticulture écologique

Engagés depuis de nombreuses années dans la viticulture durable, nous nous donnons les moyens de devenir un modèle de naturalité et de responsabilité environnementale à l’échelle de nos 5400 hectares de vignoble.

Faire évoluer nos pratiques écoresponsables

Tutiac dispose depuis 2014 d’un vignoble expérimental dédié à la recherche sur les choix variétaux et les nouvelles pratiques culturales. Objectif : préserver les écosystèmes et les ressources naturelles, développer la biodiversité, limiter les intrants. Cette action est soutenue par le ministère de l’Agriculture via programme Casdar en faveur de l’innovation pour la transition agro-écologique.
Dans ce vignoble, nous conduisons par exemple des essais (en collaboration avec l’INRA et la Chambre d’agriculture) sur des cépages naturellement résistants aux maladies, afin de limiter ou éviter le recours aux pesticides.
Dès qu’une pratique pertinente sur le plan environnemental et économique est expérimentée avec succès, nous la déployons chez les vigneron.ne.s adhérent.e.s. Parmi ces pratiques, on peut citer les semis d’inter-rangs, la plantation de haies aux abords des parcelles, la création de jachères fleuries, la confusion sexuelle pour lutter contre la prolifération des ravageurs, ou encore la conversion à l’Agriculture Biologique.

Chercher des alternatives naturelles

Tutiac s’implique également dans les recherches sur le biocontrôle pour généraliser les méthodes naturelles de protection des végétaux. Nous collaborons par exemple avec ImmunRise, une start-up bordelaise qui pourrait révolutionner les traitements phytosanitaires avec une alternative d’origine marine. ImmunRise travaille notamment sur des micro-organismes marins capables de stimuler les défenses naturelles des plantes, ou d’agir directement sur les agents pathogènes de maladies de la vigne, telles que le mildiou et le botrytis. Des résultats prometteurs ont d’ores et déjà été obtenus en laboratoire.

Les bons gestes au quotidien

L’éco-responsabilité dans le vignoble n’a pas de sens si elle ne s’étend pas à toute l’entreprise. Entre autres actions concrètes, notre coopérative veille au recyclage et à la valorisation de ses déchets, produit une électricité verte grâce à des ombrières photoélectriques installées sur un site de production, et s’équipe en bornes pour véhicules électriques accessibles au grand public.

Des objectifs ambitieux et réalistes

Aujourd’hui, l’ensemble de notre vignoble est certifié Agri-Confiance (équivalent Certification Environnementale de niveau 2) et cultivé en Bio sur 650 hectares. Notre ambition à 3 ans est de certifier la totalité de nos 5400 hectares en Haute Valeur Environnementale niveau 3. Depuis 2019, Tutiac a proscrit l’usage de produits CMR. Et nous sommes l’une des premières coopératives en France capable de proposer des vins labellisés Zéro Résidu de Pesticides, garantissant aux consommateurs l’absence de résidu de Substances Actives dans la limite de quantification.

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais